top of page
Writer's pictureUSTSS

Comrade

Patricia Faye Ladisla | June 13, 2018

At an early age, I was taught that love should be reciprocal That love should be given away, and taken back That love should be known That love should be like a song, tingling your ears with its melody of heartfelt passion That love should be like your favorite dessert, contemplating the burst of sweetness your tongue craves. That love should be like the sun, giving sunshine rays on your gloomiest day That love should be a rose, pretty and aromatic But... As years pass by, the love I've received was a complete failure. Love, wasn't the one I expected, There were no fireworks, not even a spark There wasn't even butterflies that rambled in my tummy that made me tickle. Instead, I received comparisons, Delusional mindsets, petty arguments that went on and on, Lies. Raised voices and pointing fingers. Tired eyes. A tattered soul. A numb heart. But I kept on going, for I was taught that love shouldn't be this tiring. Love shouldn't be this hard. And as the months has passed, years has gone by, I was hopeless that I would meet Love that'll give me skies full of rainbows. Tears. Tears that were continuously flowing like falls hiding in the forest, only this time there were no tourists nor cameras to capture my weak self. Pouring and asking myself what could be wrong? When could I ever receive a love that I effortlessly give? Where can I find Love? When will Love find me?

Ah, alas. The love I crave, the love I seek has been there all along. The people whom I see as flesh of my own were the same people supporting me like a backbone. The very same people who doesn’t ask for anything else in return but just a presence would suffice. The people who are contented with light drinks and small talks around a cute mini bar in the corner of a dirty street The people who are like songs that will match my everyday mood The people who are like my favorite food that would never go out of my taste The people who are like my moon. Giving light in my darkest day, giving solemn mood and star-like gaze The people that are like a rose, with thorn like flaws but still, magnificent.

These people are my friends. They were the love God put upon my life. They are the love I deserve.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Waves

Vivien Clarisse Leynes Every minute We drift upon the Earth’s surface. Eager to explore The wonders waiting at each floor. Until, We...

Distansya't oras

Daffney Danielle Cuchado Walang mga bakas ang iniwang pag-ibig Kung mananatili ba ito sa sandaling pag-kabig Sa oras na napakabilis na...

Faux Pas

“Hell is other people”-Jean Paul Sartre In the public eye, One is always on trial. A jury forms. Condemning, your every move. Witnessing,...

Comments


bottom of page